1. Money
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Family Medical Leave Laws in U.S. States


The Family Medical Leave Act affects employers in all 50 U.S. states, but 11 states have enacted similar legislation. The states are:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin, and the District of Columbia.

The Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Labor has prepared a detailed analysis of the Federal vs. State Family and Medical Leave Laws. You can review each of these tables by clicking on the state link in the first paragraph of this web page.

Covered employers must comply with the federal or state provision that provides the greater benefit to their employees. Employers cannot choose to comply with the law that provides lower benefits.

If you have questions about your state's family medical leave statutes, go to the web page of your state employment division or department of labor.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.